Skip to main content

2016 Toronto Ombudsman Award Nominees

The Toronto Ombudsman Awards are given annually to public servants who are exceptionally responsive in resolving residents’ complaints made to the Ombudsman. They are also awarded to staff, divisions or initiatives who advance good public administration by improving systems that result in better service and governance.

Toronto Interim Ombudsman, Kwame Addo, announced the nominees of the 2016 Toronto Ombudsman Award.

The nomination criteria includes:

  • Demonstrating leadership in problem solving and good customer service
  • Showing innovative approaches to dispute resolution
  • Applying system-wide solutions
  • Being exceptionally responsive and co-operative in a complaint inquiry or investigation

The nominees for 2016 are:

  • Natalie Brown, Business Planner, Strategic Relations Unit, Toronto Community Housing
  • The Decision Review Model by Toronto Employment & Social Services
  • Fiona Murray, Director, Corporate Intergovernmental and Agency Relations, Strategic and Corporate Policy
  • Kimberly Rossi, Manager – Unit Commander, Parking Enforcement, Toronto Police Service
  • Ted Van Vliet, Manager, Toronto Sign Unit, Toronto Building

An external panel will evaluate the nominations. The jury is made up of: Sabina Ali, Chair, Thorncliffe Park Women’s Committee; Rahul Bhardwaj, President & CEO, Toronto Foundation; Angela Coke, Deputy Minister, Ontario Ministry of Government and Consumer Services; Sheldon Levy, Deputy Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities; Dr. Catherine Zahn, President & CEO, CAMH.

The winner(s) will be honoured at the Toronto Ombudsman Award Ceremony on September 29, 2016.