Toronto's Office of the Ombudsman officially opened in April 2009. In the City of Toronto Act, 2006, the provincial government created the role of Ombudsman as part of an independent Accountability Framework for the City, which includes four offices:
  Since 2015, the four Accountability Offices have operated under a Memorandum of Understanding which provides for co-operation and collaboration among them in fulfilling their respective mandates. This enhances the fairness, efficiency and effectiveness of the Accountability Framework.
The following have served as Toronto's Ombudsman:
  • Fiona Crean was appointed Toronto’s first Ombudsman and served until November 2015.
  • Kwame Addo served as Interim Ombudsman for almost one year.
  • Susan Opler was unanimously appointed and served as the City's second Ombudsman from September 19, 2016 to July 22, 2021.
  • Ciaran Buggle served as the Interim Ombudsman from July 23, 2021 to August 22, 2021.
  • Kwame Addo was unanimously appointed by City Council as the City's third Ombudsman on June 9, 2021. His seven-year, non-renewable term began on August 23, 2021.